If you are facing a driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated charge in the state of Texas one of your very first steps should be to contact our office and obtain legal representation as quickly as possible.
Criminal defense lawyers –
The penalties associated with DWI charges are very serious and can have severe consequences. Your only hope to mitigate or even beat the charges is to have a lawyer on your side who is honest, experienced, knowledgeable, accessible … and relentless in pursuing your rights and a just settlement.
At the Law Office of Kenneth N. Cutrer we have built a strong reputation for defending charges related to drug and alcohol crimes.
You can count on us:
alcohol charges of all types
minimizing the penalties from your arrest
Few Charges Carry as Severe & Long-lasting Implications as Those Related to DWI Charges
That’s why securing the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney like Mr. Cutrer is so important.
He can provide you with the knowledge and determination that can end up being the difference between you incurring huge legal expenses, a long drawn out penalty and even jail time or you receiving a simpler, more just ending or possibly even an acquittal.
Here’s what you need to know about DWI in Texas:
DWI stands for Driving While Intoxicated.
This charge can be applied to both minors and adults.
Here is some more information about this charge: you can be arrested for DWI whether you have consumed alcohol or drugs (yes, even prescription drugs). You can also be charged with DWI whether you take a breath test or not.
DWI is considered proven in one or more of the following three ways:
alcohol or drugs
A word about breath
and blood tests …
Remember, when an officer asks you to take a blood or breath test you are already under arrest so taking the test will not allow you to go home. That means you should be very careful in deciding whether to take the test or not. Also remember, even if you pass the breath or blood test, you can still be charged and convicted of DWI.
Consequences of taking
a breath or blood test:
1. If the test shows that you have an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days if this is your first DWI offense. If you have a prior DWI or alcohol suspension your license can be suspended up to one (1) year.
2. have also given the state evidence to convict you.
Consequences of refusing
a breath or blood test:
1. Your driver’s license could be suspended for a period of 180 days if you have not had a DWI before. If you have had a DWI or were asked to take a breath test before, the suspension could be two (2) years.
2. The fact that you refused a breath test can be used against you in trial.
The bottom line when it comes to dealing with a DWI charge is that you need a good lawyer on your side.
Ask anyone who has been through the DWI process and one of the first pieces of advice they will give you is to get an attorney as soon as possible after the arrest or citation. Not doing that could significantly increase your chances of receiving some of the following penalties:
– Jail time
– Alcohol or drug rehabilitation program
– Exorbitant fines and fees
– Work programs
– Secured electronic confinement
– Installation of an ignition interlock device
– Drivers license suspension
Our experienced and dedicated staff will work hard to protect your rights and ensure the best possible result for your legal case.
To learn more about our DWI legal services, schedule a free consultation today. Remember, if you are facing a DWI charge, you need to act fast to have the best possible chance of success!